Charleville Cup

The Charleville Cup will be played for this weekend. This is the first Golfer of the Year Event. Points will be awarded to the top 20 finishers, and the golfer of the year league table will be posted in the locker room, which will be updated after each GOY event.

To inform you of the history of this prestigious competition – The Charleville Cup was presented to the club by Major Aylmer in late 1948. The Hon Secretary was directed at a committee meeting on 16th November 1948 to write to Major Aylmer expressing our appreciation for his presentation to the club of the magnificent cup.

It was first played for on 24th April 1949. There were 34 players entered into the competition each at 2/6 giving a total of £4-5-0. The first winner of the Charleville Cup back in 1949 was Wm Dunworth and runner up was Denis Doyle.

Last years winner of the Charleville Cup is Mr Peadar Cronin.