History & Honours

Club History

It would appear golf has been played in Charleville as far back as 1909, as it is listed in “The Irish Golfers Guide” in 1910, as a nine-hole course. The early club would appear to have floundered, as it is not mentioned in subsequent publications. The present club was founded in 1941.
Charleville Golf Club Achievements

5 July 2005

Charleville Members Mick Potter, Pat Potter and Danny Deady, playing with Padraig Harrington and representing Charleville Community Care Services, won the J. P. McManus Invitational Pro-Am at Adare Manor Golf Resort in 2005.

17th September 2004

Charleville won the Munster Championship of the Jimmy Bruen Shield and where drawn against Leinster Champions Dundalk Golf Club in the All-Ireland Semi-Finals at Shannon Golf Club on 17th September 2004. They lost out to Dundalk by 3 matches to 2 matches, the team on the day was Anthony Fitzgerald and Eddie Barry who beat Jim Dwyer and Maurice Murphy 5 & 3, Tom Allen and John Kavanagh who beat Ruairi Gogarty and Damien English 2 & 1, James Browne and Declan Mooney lost to Ken Norton and Michael Coburn, Sean McSweeney and Bill Hanley lost to Sean Reidy and Kevin Barry and Danny Deady and Michael Galligan lost to Alan McCabe and Michael Gil on the 18th, how close can it get.

September 2002, 2003, 2004

Charleville Golf Club won the All-Ireland J. B. Carr Diamond Trophy at Woodenbridge Golf Club in September 2002 and again in 2003 and 2004.

13 September 2001

M. Madigan qualified for the National Finals of the Irish Times-Mitsubishi Motors Women’s Masters. She returned 30 points in the semi-final at Glasson Golf Hotel & Golf Club on the 23rd of August 2001. Then it was on to Galway Bay Golf & Country Club for the Final on 13th September. She was, joined by club-mate T. Flynn who returned 29 points.